The 70 Istighfar for Forgiveness that save one from the Fire – given to Hasan Basri Rahimahullah

Hasan Basri Prayers For Forgiveness A4

The 70 Istighfar for Forgiveness that save one from the Fire – given to Hasan Basri Rahimahullah

Download here :
https://salawaat.files.wordpress.com/2015/03/hasan-basri-prayers-for-forgiveness-a4.pdf

What are the70 istighfar?

The 70 Istighfaarat – Prayers for Forgiveness that save one from the Fire – Imam Hasan al-Basri (RA)

This collection of seventy prayers for forgiveness [istighfarat] are attributed to one of the greatest spiritual luminaries of the past, Imam Hasan al-Basri, and it has been presented to offer a way for us to navigate through the complications and pitfalls of this life. Set out in Arabic script, with adjoining translation in English. Below is the event that took place between Imam
Hasan al-Basri and eight men he met in Arafat:
Imam Hasan al Basri says:
I had always wished to see a friend or dear servant of Allah, either while awake or in a dream, so that I could ask him of a need of mine, until one year, while I was standing in Arafat at noon, I suddenly noticed eight people by the Arak (trees) in the vicinity of the Valley of Numān facing the Mount of the Valley of Sakharāt. I resolved that they are the ones I was seeking, so I approached them and greeted them, to which they responded most cordially. Among them was elderly man whose face Allah had illuminated and its brilliance was ascending into the horizon. I sat with them and felt little in myself when I observed the calmness and tranquillity they possessed within them.

Then one of them stood up, made call for prayer, and then made the call to commence. At this the elderly man proceeded forth and led them in prayer. I Prayed with them, and I knew that there was no prayer – nor would there be any- recorded in my book of deeds with a value like this one. After the prayer, he faced in the direction of Kàba and then said: “For Allah is abundant praise” I did not
hear him say anything other than that. I feared that my opportunity to be with them [and benefit from them] would pass, or that they would soon leave me, so I said to the one next to me “By Allah, the One Who has chosen you, how have you achieved this [great] status and [moral] excellence?”
His face changed, and he opened his eyes [in surprise], upon which the elderly man said to him, “Whomever Allah guides, he is truly guided. Show him the way; may Allah have mercy on you.” So the one beside me said to me, ‘I used to recite the prayers of forgiveness that save from the Hellfire’ during three nights.” I asked as to exactly what these prayers were and in which nights they were recited? He said, “I recite them on the nights of the seventh, ninth, tenth of Dhū’l Hijja, and if the
one reciting them really knows what he is reciting and what words he is uttering, it is incumbent upon Allah to provide him with security on the day of great grief [Judgement Day], and to distinguish him with [His] mercy and friendship.” I said, “Teach me these prayers; may Allah Most High have mercy on you.” So he said to me, they are….

Leave a Reply

